Squaring the Circle

Squaring the Circle was a weekend programme of performance and music, co-curated by Natalie Marr, Dawn Celeste Ashley, Daniella Valz Gen, Oda Egjar Starheim and Øystein Monsen, which took sampling and appropriation as its starting points. The programme took place at Lewisham Arthouse in South East London on Friday 31 January and Saturday 1 February 2016.

Sampling traces its roots back to the technical experiments and manipulations of musicians and artists in the 1940s, finding its popular realisations in hip hop, electronic dance and industrial music of the 70s and 80s. Squaring the Circle tapped into the continuing relevance of sampling and appropriation as generative and explorative tools for artistic and musical practices, with two nights of work developed specifically for the programme.

‘Spandex Universe’  by Jammie Nicholas (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
‘performanceends’ by Elena Colman (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
‘performanceends’by Elena Colman (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Jessica Worden (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Dawn Celeste Ashley performing  ‘Sound study of Lewisham Arthouse, January 2014 ‘ (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Natalie Marr performing ‘Mother’ (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Charles Hayward (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Ayumi T. Tamaki (photo credit: Ali Ashe)
Group improvisation featuring: Erik Aleph, Dawn Celeste Ashley, Oda Egjar Starheim, Charles Hayward, Palle Lindqvist, Øystein Monsen, Daniella Valz Gen, Mirei Yazawa, Tom Mills, Tom Wheatley (photo credit: Natalie Marr)

The first night showcased a range of live pieces, from performance, video and installation to sonic works.

Featuring work by:

Louise Ashcroft
Dawn Celeste Ashley
Elena Colman
Charles Hayward
Palle Lindqvist
Kate Mahony
Natalie Marr
Jammie Nicholas
Ayumi T. Tamaki
Jessica Worden

The second night took the format of an experimental, improvised group sampling session, involving different practitioners in the fields of music, sound, video, performance art and dance over the course of 4 hours.

Erik Aleph (sampling)
Dawn Celeste Ashley (objects, synths, voice, sampling)
Oda Egjar Starheim (guitar, voice)
Charles Hayward (keyboard, amps, drums, melodica)
Palle Lindqvist (sampling)
Øystein Monsen (sampling)
Daniella Valz Gen (objects, voice)
Mirei Yazawa (dance)
Tom Mills (theremin)
Tom Wheatley (double bass)

© Natalie Marr 2024